Radiologic Technology: Books

This is the second edition of a well-received book that enriches the understanding of radiographers and radiologic technologists across the globe, and is designed to meet the needs of courses (units) on radiographic imaging equipment, procedures, production, and exposure. The book also serves as a supplement for courses that address digital imaging techniques, such as radiologic physics, radiographic equipment and quality control.   In a broader sense, the purpose of the book is to meet readers' needs in connection with the change from film-based imaging to film-less or digital imaging; today, all radiographic imaging worldwide is based on digital imaging technologies.  The book covers a wide range of topics to address the needs of members of various professional radiologic technology associations, such as the American Society of Radiologic Technologists, the Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists, the College of Radiographers in the UK, and the Australian and New Zealand Societies for Radiographers.

Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology, 9th Edition helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need to become safe, perceptive, and efficient radiologic technologists. The book offers a strong illustration program and a logical organization that emphasizes the connections between classroom learning and clinical practice. Fully aligned with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards, this edition covers current trends and advances in the field and offers an unparalleled array of online teaching and learning resources. eBOOK AVAILABLE. Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. NEW ALIGNMENT! Full alignment with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards helps prepare students for certification and successful practice. ENHANCED CASE STUDIES! New and updated case studies with critical thinking questions give students practice dealing with the types of real-world situations they will encounter on the job. SITUATIONAL JUDGEMENT SECTIONS: These sections build critical thinking skills by presenting practical situations and asking students to assess them based on what they have learned. NEW CONTENT: The text reflects new and relevant advances in the field, including updates in pediatric, geriatric, trauma, and mobile imaging. CULTURALLY SENSITIVE: Cultural Considerations boxes demonstrate the importance of being aware of the cultural and ethnic backgrounds of patients. STUDENT-FOCUSED: Learning Objectives and Key Terms that orient students to the chapter; Display boxes that highlight accreditation, competency, or skills information; and Call Out and Warning boxes that alert students to important facts and common pitfalls help students prepare for practice.

Enhance your imaging skills with the latest sonographic technologies and prepare for the ARDMS SPI certification exam! Sonography: Principles and Instruments, 10th Edition explains how diagnostic ultrasound works and covers the essentials of ultrasound physics and instrumentation, including Doppler imaging, artifacts, safety, and quality assurance. More than 1,300 illustrations include ultrasound scans, helping to demonstrate imaging anatomy, motion, and flow. In simplifying complicated concepts, Dr. Kremkau succeeds where other texts do not. With the right blend of imaging fundamentals, current techniques, and exam practice questions, this book is ideal for both students and experienced practitioners. Emphasis on the fundamentals of physics and sonography prepares you for the ARDMS SPI (Sonography Principles & Instrumentation) certification exam. Coverage of current technology includes the progress made with contrast agents and 3D, along with the more general aspects of transducers and instruments. Straightforward explanations simplify complicated concepts. Over 120 ultrasound scans with a full-color design represent what you will encounter in the clinical setting. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter give you a measurable outcome to achieve. Key terms are listed at the beginning of each chapter and bolded in the text for fast and convenient lookup. Key Points are marked with an icon and special type, highlighting the most important information to help you study more efficiently. Bulleted review at the end of each chapter identifies key concepts. End-of-chapter exercises test your knowledge and understanding with a blend of multiple-choice, matching, and true/false questions. Glossary at the end of the book serves as a quick reference to key terms, letting you look up definitions without having to search through each chapter. Appendices offer convenient access to a list of symbols and equations, plus a mathematics review. Student resources on the Evolve companion website enhance learning with videos, a physics review, an image collection, and advanced concepts.

Pediatric Sonography has long been recognized as the leading technical reference in its field. Now, the fifth edition continues in that tradition, providing up-to-date guidance on sonographic image decision-making, examination, and interpretation in both children and adolescents. Each chapter covers a specific organ system and the disease processes associated with it. Overflowing with over 1800 updated figures, including Doppler sonograms and full color illustrations. Briskly covers all aspects of sonography in children and adolescents, including imaging techniques, instrumentation, examination, and diagnosis. Depicts the presentation of normal anatomy and identifies technical errors that may affect your interpretation of the sonographic image. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.

Ensure you can correctly answer any and all questions on their registry exams. Sonography Exam Review: Physics, Abdomen, Obstetrics and Gynecology, 3rd Edition provides the exact review materials you need to pass the three main sonography exams: physics, abdomen, and OB/GYN. Each chapter is arranged in table and outline format with 50 review questions at the end of the chapter and a mock exam at the end of each section. New and revised chapters in this 3rd edition include additional information on salivary glands, musculoskeletal, and male pelvis sonography. Updated information on patient care, imaging techniques and protocols is also included, and much more! Complete preparation for the three main ARDMS exams: physics, abdomen, and ob/gyn covers the three subject areas required for general ultrasound practice. More than 1,900 questions in registry format - 1,910 in the text and 700 online - allow you to thoroughly prepare for the registry exams using multiple methods of learning. Content review in outline and tabular format offers a quick, concise review of key terms, anatomy, functions, scanning technique, lab values, and pathology for each registry subject. Rationales for answers to mock exam questions are provided to help you understand why an answer is correct and incorrect. More than 350 ultrasound scans are included in the abdominal and ob/gyn sections. Color insert of Doppler images of anatomy and pathology prepares you to answer questions related to Doppler imaging. NEW! Updated coverage of the neck to include salivary glands NEW! Revised section on the male pelvis to include penile sonography NEW! Additional coverage on imaging techniques and protocols