Radiologic Technology: eBooks

This 3rd edition of Radiography in the Digital Age was peer-reviewed by five colleagues who brought many valuable corrections and improvements to the text. The entire textbook has been converted to metric units, and to Systeme International (SI) units for radiation biology and protection. This was done to make it more usable for an international community of educators, and to align with the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists' adoption of SI units in 2016. The ability of digital processing not only to generally compensate for scatter radiation, but to correct specific fog patterns in the image is more fully explained. Many crisp illustrations have been added, along with helpful tables and refinements to the text designed to make the entire presentation more student-friendly. Remarkable clarity and concise descriptions help the student with more complicated topics, especially in the digital domain. The practical limitations of digital features such as smoothing and edge enhancement are covered with their direct implications for clinical application. Several sections have been deleted, moved or reorganized to provide smoother transitions and development of the topics, with particular focus on the digital imaging chapters. Material on rescaling the digital image has been greatly strengthened, and new graphs have been added that make histogram analysis and errors mush easier to grasp. The comprehensiveness and detailed presentation of this book will deepen the collective conversation, challenge thinking, and give up-to-date tools that may be used today.

Chest x-rays are among the most difficult plain film to report. This helpful book combines a simple introduction to the basics of chest x-ray reporting with a good number of sample cases, including actual radiographs. The book begins with the anatomy of the chest x-ray, as visualised on the posterior anterior and lateral images. This is followed by a short chapter on having a systematic approach when reporting chest x-rays, then the silhouette sign as described by Felson, then chapters on consolidation and collapse, heart failure, tumours, lung nodules, chest trauma, positioning of tubes, lines and pacemakers, chronic chest conditions and tuberculosis. Finally, there is a chapter that includes 60 cases for the reader to review. Today, many different healthcare professionals are involved in reviewing chest x-rays. This book will therefore be useful for advanced nurse practitioners, accident and emergency practitioners, and major trauma practitioners, as well as trainee radiologists, radiographers, trainee reporting radiographers and junior medics. Contents include: The radiographs and anatomy of the chest x-ray A systematic approach to reviewing the chest x-ray Felson s silhouette sign Consolidation and collapse Overview of cardiovascular disorders and heart failure Lung tumours Lung nodules Chest trauma Tubes, lines and pacemakers Chronic chest conditions Tuberculosis 60 cases

In the 20 years since the publication of the first edition, the field of radiology has advanced in ways that would have been difficult to predict. The most notable change relates to the way images are recorded and stored. Film and film processing, which had been used in the field since the very beginning, are becoming a thing of the past. Radiography has progressed dramatically to using digital technology, and that is the focus of this new edition. A goal of this text has always been to prepare the student who wishes to enter the x-ray servicing profession. This third edition has been completely rewritten and updated to focus on equipment currently in use and to address the latest in digital imaging. In addition, with new illustrations and a revised chapter order, the book is more approachable to students. The book includes chapters on the history and development of radiographic equipment; types of equipment found in the general radiographic room; fundamentals of radiography; safety practices in servicing; installation processes; preventive maintenance; image quality; troubleshooting and repair; theory, service, maintenance, and calibration of tomographic equipment; and the servicing, electronic calibrating, and troubleshooting of mammography units. In addition, there is expanded discussion on mobile x-ray units, paired with digital receptors, a growing trend in x-ray services. The book is further enhanced with many illustrations, including some new to this edition. The text continues to serve as a unique and timely universal manual for x-ray service and biomedical engineers and students as well as a helpful resource for radiologists.

Covering both physical as well as mathematical and algorithmic foundations, this graduate textbook provides the reader with an introduction into modern biomedical imaging and image processing and reconstruction. These techniques are not only based on advanced instrumentation for image acquisition, but equally on new developments in image processing and reconstruction to extract relevant information from recorded data. To this end, the present book offers a quantitative treatise of radiography, computed tomography, and medical physics. Contents Introduction Digital image processing Essentials of medical x-ray physics Tomography Radiobiology, radiotherapy, and radiation protection Phase contrast radiography Object reconstruction under nonideal conditions

All the key Radiology cases for your rounds, rotations, and exams Head and Neck Imaging presents the challenging cases that are most likely to be encountered by residents and radiologists focusing on imaging of the head and neck. It helps radiologists correctly interpret images and thus quickly make initial diagnoses on both common and less common disorders of the head and neck. This book is also an effective review guide for those studying for the radiology board exams. Features of Head and Neck Imaging: Content covers the imaging of the temporal bone, skull base, orbits, paranasal sinuses, and all the structures of the head and neck Examples of critical cases that must be accurately diagnosed in daily practice and on exams Clearly labeled, high-quality images help you quickly absorb key findings   RadCases contains cases selected to simulate everything that youâe(tm)ll see on your rounds, rotations, and exams. RadCases also helps you identify the correct differential diagnosis for each case--including the most critical. RadCases covers: Cardiac Imaging · Interventional Radiology · Musculoskeletal Radiology · Neuro Imaging · Thoracic Imaging · Pediatric Imaging · Gastrointestinal Imaging · Breast Imaging · Emergency Radiology · Nuclear Medicine · Ultrasound Imaging · Head and Neck Imaging · Genitourinary Imaging   Each RadCases title features 100 carefully selected, must-know cases documented with clear, high-quality radiographs. The organization provides maximum ease of use for self-assessment. Each case begins with the clinical presentation on the right-hand page; simply turn the page for imaging findings, differential diagnoses, the definitive diagnosis, essential facts, and more. This RadCases book comes with a code providing access to additional online cases: 100 from this book plus 150 more cases. Learn your cases, diagnose with confidence, and pass your exams. RadCases. This print book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com. Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product.