English: Books

Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLiteratureLab#65533; does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLiteratureLab, search for: 013404763X / 9780134047638 Backpack Literature: An Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, Drama, and Writing Plus MyLiteratureLab - access card package Package consists of: 0133931269 / 9780133931266 - Glue-in Access Card 0133931277 / 9780133931273 - Inside Star Sticker 0321968123 / 9780321968128 - Kennedy/Gioia, Backpack Literature: An Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, Drama, and Writing MyLiteratureLab is not a self-paced technology and should only be purchased when required by an instructor.   For introductory courses in Literature. Cultivate a Love of Literature... The smallest and most economical member of the Kennedy/Gioia family, Backpack Literature: An Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, Drama, and Writing, 5/e   is a brief paperback version of the discipline's most popular Literature anthology.     Backpack Literature introduces college students to the appreciation and experience of literature in its major forms and develops the student's ability to think critically and communicate effectively through writing.  The book is built on the assumption that great literature can enrich and enlarge the lives it touches. Both editors, literary writers themselves, believe that textbooks should be not only informative and accurate but also lively, accessible, and engaging.   Also Available with MyLiteratureLab #65533; This title is also available with MyLiteratureLab - an online resource that works with our literature anthologies to provide engaging experiences to instructors and students.   Students can access new content that fosters an understanding of literary elements, which provides a foundation for stimulating class discussions. This simple and powerful tool offers state-of-the-art audio and video resources along with practical tools and flexible assessment. The Literature Collection eText within MyLiteratureLab includes more than 700 selections and valuable multimedia resources--including professional performances, biographies of key authors, contextual videos, interactive student papers--that bring literature to life.

PACKAGE THIS TITLE WITH OUR 2016 MLA SUPPLEMENT, Documenting Sources in MLA Style (package ISBN-13: 9781319084677). Get the most recent updates on MLA citation in a convenient, 40-page resource based on The MLA Handbook, 8th Edition, with plenty of models. Browse our catalog or contact your representative for a full listing of updated titles and packages, or to request a custom ISBN. Driven by Andrea Lunsford's ground-breaking research on student writing habits, EasyWriter: A High School Reference is an essential guide for students looking to make effective academic writing choices. This edition has been specifically designed to meet the needs of the Common Core classroom. To help students work with informational texts, it features an expanded chapter on Critical Thinking and Argument; help with evaluating, integrating, and synthesizing sources to support arguments; and detailed attention to critical reading to strengthen students' text-based analysis skills. Andrea's trademark rhetorical approach to the grammar and mechanics of language is enhanced with advice on word choice, expanding vocabulary, and sharpening spelling skills. Coverage of speaking and listening is expanded to include not just public speaking, but participating in classroom discussions, collaborating with peers, and using note-taking strategies to listen actively. You get all this in a pocket handbook that's easy to use, easy to carry, and easy to afford.

This comprehensive collection provides thoughtful examination of the Authors, Works, Genres, Themes and Film Adaptations that have contributed to the popularity and success of the young adult genre. Author Biographies-Complete coverage of 40 of the most notable young adult authors from around the world. In-depth biographies provide an overview of each author's life, influences and major works. Coverage includes such notables as C.S. Lewis, Gary Paulsen, J.K. Rowling, Judy Blume, Lois Lowry, Markus Zusak, Stephanie Meyer, and many more. Genre Overviews-These comprehensive Genre Overviews provide a thorough examination of the genre, through the lens of three popular works. A wide variety of genres are covered, including Adventure, Apocalyptic, Christian, Graphic Novels, Humorous, LGBTQ, Paranormal, Romance, Dystopian, Steampunk, and Urban Literature. Plot Summaries-Provides a thorough examination of 50 notable young adult works. Detailed entries being with the type of work, type, time and locale of the plot, along with principal characters. A plot summary follows, along with a detailed critical evaluation of the work's theme, style and focus. Theme Overviews-Offers a detailed look at the most popular themes within young adult literature. Comprehensive essays take a close look at the theme, through an thought-provoking analysis of three individual works. Themes covered in this section include Alienation, Body Image, Bullying, Depression, Friendship, Good & Evil, Substance Abuse, and many others. Film Analysis-Provides a thorough examination of over 40 popular film adaptations of young adult novels. Detailed entries analyze the literary cinematic merits of the film adaptation, while making note of the similarities and differences between the film and the book. Coverage includes The Book Thief, Divergent, Eragon, The Fault in Our Stars, Hugo, The Lovely Bones, The Perks of Being a Wallflower and many more. The Critical Survey of Young Adult Literature provides a single source for examination of this popular genre. This new title is a must of high-school and undergraduate literature collections along with public libraries of all sizes.

GET WRITING: PARAGRAPHS AND ESSAYS helps developmental students learn to think and plan before they write, and evaluate their own and others' writing, with a focus on critical thinking through features called "Critical Thinking: What Are You Trying to Say?" and "Revision: What Have You Written?" The text helps those who are struggling with writing requirements, including recent high school graduates, returning students, or those for whom English is a second language. Integrated exercises enable them to practice what they have just learned, and student papers in annotated first and revised drafts provide realistic models. Sample professional writing demonstrates how writers understand the context of their writing, utilize writing strategies, and make language choices.

Each semester, millions of college students are required to write research papers for class. Staring at a blank word processing document on your computer screen can create an uneasy feeling, especially as you wish for words to magically fill your 20-page assignment. For the majority of college students, whether you go to Harvard or to community college, this is a universal feeling. This complete guide was created just for you -- the college student. In this book, you will learn tips for formatting your research paper, as well as how to complete a cohesive, well-structured assignment for any college course. This guide will walk you through the entire process of writing a research paper, from choosing a topic, to conducting your research, to writing and editing each draft of the assignment. You will learn how to properly use the library, as well as tricks for finding relevant and credible articles, books, and online sources. This comprehensive guide then takes you a step further, with information on how to check your work for plagiarism and eliminate it from your paper altogether as you learn how to use your research as a source to support your thesis. Filled with tips for finding reputable sources and conducting research efficiently, even English majors will find this guide useful in defining a focused thesis and developing it throughout an entire paper, regardless of the required word count. Using the step-by-step instructions and writing guidelines offered in this book, you will learn how to manage your time while simultaneously mastering the basics choosing a unique topic, taking notes from your research and incorporating them into your writing, and citing sources in MLA or APA style (or styles laid out by other reference manuals). Get your creative juices flowing with our list of prompts, or compare your work or outline to samples from real research papers; then polish your paper off with grammar and style tips from professional editors. Use the checklists included in this book to make sure your paper measures up to any grading criteria, as you learn how to keep your paper consistent in style, tone, punctuation, capitalisation, verb tense, and more. The book is filled with hundreds of hints, tricks, and secrets on how to make your research paper stand out in the stack. We spent hundreds of hours interviewing successful college graduates and professors to compile the exclusive tips you need to know to get that perfect score.