Massage Therapy : Books

Trust this approachable, all-in-one text to help you master the essential principles of massage therapy! Covering massage fundamentals, techniques, and anatomy and physiology, Massage Therapy: Principles and Practice, 7th Edition prepares you for success in class, on exams, and in practice settings. This user-friendly text includes more than 700 images, expanded information on the latest protocols, critical thinking questions at the end of each chapter, and updated pathologies which reflect what you will encounter in the field.   Simple, straightforward coverage is written in a clear, approachable manner to strengthen student comprehension. UNIQUE! Combined anatomy and physiology and fundamentals material make this a streamlined solution - one book to buy, one book to carry, one complete resource to reference. Certification Practice Exam mimics the major certification exams and provides excellent practice for board review. Critical thinking questions at the end of the chapters help students develop clinical reasoning skills. Robust art program enhances understanding and comprehension of each topic presented through a mixture of high-quality illustrations and clinical photographs. NEW! Updated Hydrotherapy and Spa chapter features the latest procedures. NEW! Expanded sports massage section in the Clinical Massage chapter offers additional information on this growing practice area. NEW! Revised artwork in the Kinesiology chapter clearly illustrates key concepts.

Get complete massage pathology information in one convenient text! Mosby's Pathology for Massage Professionals, 5th Edition provides concise pathology information, along with specific therapeutic recommendations. Coverage of more than 300 pathologies shows you how to appropriately tailor treatment, and more than 500 full-color photographs make it easier to recognize common pathologies. Written by massage therapy educator, researcher, and practitioner Dr. Susan Salvo, this resource provides the pathology knowledge you need to succeed in the classroom and in your career. Coverage of more than 300 pathologies provides students with ample information without being overwhelming. More than 500 full-color photographs help students recognize common diseases and conditions. Case studies in each chapter encourage students to apply their knowledge and develop clinical reasoning skills. UNIQUE! Hospital-Based Massage chapter covers different protocols needed for massage therapists working in institutionalized care settings and provides useful information about working with clients who are medically fragile or in hospice care. User-friendly, comprehensive format makes it easy to find key information with learning objectives, a systems overview that includes the aging process, and pathologies that feature descriptions, etiologies, signs and symptoms, current treatment measures including medications in bold-italics for easy identification, and massage modifications. UPDATED! Refreshed artwork throughout the book visually reinforces key concepts and techniques. UPDATED! Information on the biopsychosocial model, transmission-based precautions, and disinfection procedures for today's massage practice. UPDATED! Inclusion of sleep disorders, opioids, and CBD use by clients, and their massage considerations. UPDATED! Addition of evidence-based protocols for scar tissue, constipation, hypoglycemia, and more. UPDATED! Detailed information on how to work with clients after surgery, who have a colostomy, amputations, or who are on dialysis. UPDATED! Thoroughly reviewed and revised pathologies feature current research findings and reflect what students will encounter in today's massage therapy practice, with a focus on evidence-informed practice.

Success in massage therapy begins with a solid foundation in the fundamentals! Mosby's Fundamentals of Therapeutic Massage, 7th Edition helps you build the skills you need, from assessing problems and planning treatment to mastering massage techniques and protocols. Hundreds of photographs demonstrate massage techniques step by step, and case studies bring concepts to life. 'How-to' videos on the Evolve companion website show manipulation techniques, body mechanics, positioning and draping, and more. If you want to prepare for licensing and certification exams and succeed in practice, this resource from massage therapy expert Sandy Fritz is your text of choice. Comprehensive coverage includes all of the fundamentals of therapeutic massage, including massage techniques, equipment and supplies, wellness, working with special populations, and business considerations; it also prepares you for success on licensing and certification exams. Step-by-step, full-color photographs demonstrate massage techniques and protocols by body area. Three hours of video on the Evolve website demonstrate techniques and body mechanics - each clip is narrated and performed by author Sandy Fritz - as well as review activities for licensing exams.  Proficiency exercises provide opportunities to practice and apply what you are learning. Case studies offer practice with clinical reasoning and prepare you to address conditions commonly encountered in professional practice. Coverage of body mechanics helps you to create an ergonomically effective massage environment and to determine appropriate pressure, drag, and duration application while applying massage methods. Coverage of multiple charting methods helps you develop record-keeping and documentation skills, including SOAP and computer charting with simulation on Evolve. Learning features include chapter outlines, objectives, summaries, key terms, practical applications, activities and exercises, and workbook-type practice. Review tools include matching exercises, short answer questions, fill-in-the-blank questions, drawing exercises, and critical thinking questions, all available on Evolve. Research Literacy and Evidence-Based Practice chapter includes new research findings and explains how research is done, and how to read and understand it. Adaptive Massage chapter explains how to address the needs of specific populations, from pregnant women and infants to hospice patients and people with physical impairments. Massage Career Tracks and Practice Settings chapter covers massage therapy services offered at spas, and looks at the spa as a possible massage career. In-depth coverage of HIPAA shows how to store records in a HIPAA-compliant manner and explains HIPAA requirements and training. Foot in the Door boxes outline the professional skills expected by prospective employers. Updated Basic Pharmacology for the Massage Therapist appendix provides up-to-date information on common medications. NEW! Mock licensing exam is added to the Evolve companion website, and the text now includes review questions at the end of each chapter. NEW! Additional content on critical thinking and research helps in building an evidence-informed practice. NEW! Increased coverage of human trafficking is designed to raise awareness and prevent the spread of this criminal activity. NEW! Updated illustrations in Body Mechanics chapter show how to create an ergonomically effective massage environment.

Get the science background you need to master massage therapy! Mosby's Essential Sciences for Therapeutic Massage, 6th Edition provides full-color, easy-to-read coverage of anatomy and physiology, biomechanics, kinesiology, and pathologic conditions for the entire body. Realistic examples apply A&P content directly to the practice of massage therapy, and learning activities help you review key material and develop critical thinking skills. Written by noted massage therapy educators Sandy Fritz and Luke Allen Fritz, this guide provides a solid foundation in the sciences and positions you for success on licensing and certification exams. Coverage of essential sciences and practical application helps you study for and pass licensing and certification exams, including the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) and Board Certification in Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (BCTMB). Over 700 full-color line drawings and photos show muscle locations, attachments, and actions - required knowledge for passing certification exams and for practicing massage therapy. ELAP-compliant content ensures that your skills and knowledge of massage therapy meet the proficiency recommendations of the Entry-Level Analysis Project. Learning features include chapter outlines, objectives, summaries, key terms, practical applications, multiple-choice review and discussion questions, plus workbook sections on Evolve. Biomechanics Basics chapter includes gait assessment and muscle testing activities along with critical thinking questions. Sections on pathologic conditions include suggestions for referral protocols as well as indications and contraindications for therapeutic massage. Coverage of nutrition explains how nutrition and nutritional products might affect or interfere with massage therapy, describing the basics of nutrition, the digestive process, and all of the main vitamins and minerals and their functions in the body. Practical Applications boxes include photos of massage techniques and settings, and help you learn competencies and apply material to real-world practice. Focus on Professionalism boxes summarize key information about ethics and best business practices. Mentoring Tips provide practical insight into important topics and on being a massage therapy professional. Learning How to Learn boxes at the beginning of each chapter make it easier to comprehend key concepts. Learn More on the Web boxes in the book and on Evolve suggest online resources for further reading and research. Quick Content Review in Question Form on Evolve reinforces the key material in each chapter and increases critical thinking skills. Appendix on diseases/conditions provides a quick reference to indications and contraindications, showing how pathologic conditions may affect the safety and efficacy of therapeutic massage. NEW! MBLEx preparation questions at the end of each chapter and additional questions on the Evolve companion website prepare you for the licensure examination. NEW! End-of-chapter case studies build your skills in critical thinking. UPDATED information provides the most current, accurate content to help you prepare for exams and practice. NEW! Expanded Evolve site provides content review and licensing exam preparation. UPDATED coverage of massage pathologies reflects what you will see in the field as a practitioner.

Learn the healing power of touch with a new, up-to-date reference from The Complete Guide to Modern Massage. Massage is a natural method to relieve pain and reduce stress--and anyone can learn how to do it. The Complete Guide to Modern Massage offers an updated reference to learn popular techniques and feel the physical and emotional benefits of massage. From classic styles such as Swedish or Shiatsu to new favorites like Ayurvedic and Thai, this massage guide offers illustrated, step-by-step instruction to master techniques from around the world. Complete with massage practices for pain relief, you'll learn how to heal your family, friends, partners, and even yourself of common ailments with your own two hands. The Complete Guide to Modern Massage includes: An introduction to massage that outlines the history and basic principles of massage and how they relate to modern practice. World-famous massage techniques that include Deep Tissue, Reflexology, Tui Na, Cranialsacral, Reiki, and more! Restorative applications for healing common ailments including headaches, neck pain, PMS, lower back pain, and more. Easy-to-follow guidance with illustrations, and simple step-by-step directions to master every technique. Give and receive rejuvenating massages with world-famous techniques and step-by-step instructions from The Complete Guide to Modern Massage.