Air Conditioning Technology: Books

David Chadderton's Air Conditioning is the complete introduction and reference guide for students and practitioners of air conditioning design, installation and maintenance. The scientific principles involved are introduced with the help of case studies and exercises, and downloadable spreadsheets help you work through important calculations. New chapters on peak summertime air temperature in buildings without cooling systems, air duct acoustic calculations and air conditioning system cost enhance the usefulness to design engineers. Case studies are created from real life data, including PROBE post-occupancy reports, relating all of the theoretical explanations to current practice. Trends and recent applications in lowering energy use by air conditioning are also addressed, keeping the reader informed of the latest sustainable air conditioning technologies. Over 75 multiple choice questions will help the reader check on their progress. Covering both tropical and temperate climates, this is the ideal book for those learning about the basic principles of air conditioning, seeking to understand the latest technological developments, or maintaining a successful HVAC practice anywhere in the world.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A Complete, Up-to-Date Guide to AC and Refrigeration Fully revisited to cover the latest techniques, tools, refrigerants, and equipment, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration, Second Edition, provides a thorough introduction to the basic principles and practices of the AC and refrigeration industry. Step-by-step instructions, along with more than 800 photographs and illustrations, demonstrate efficient, cost-effective, and current methods for choosing, installing, maintaining, troubleshooting, servicing, and repairing today's cooling and climate control systems. Whether you're a do-it-yourselfer, a professional technician, or a student, you'll find the task-simplifying details you need for any project. Learn all about: Tools, instruments, and specialized equipment Development of refrigeration Voltage, current, and resistance Solenoids and valves Electric motors Refrigerants Refrigeration compressors Condensers, chillers, and cooling towers Water-cooling problems Evaporators Refrigerant flow control Servicing and safety Freezers Temperature, psychrometrics, and air control Comfort air conditioning Commercial air-conditioning systems Various types of air conditioners and heat pumps Estimating load and insulating pipes Electrical power for air conditioners Air-conditioning and refrigeration careers New refrigerants Electrical and electronic symbols used in schematics

The only series of step-by-step guides to succeeding in the skilled trades and achieving the American dream. At Your Best as an HVAC/R Tech is your playbook for learning if a career as an electrician is right for you, progressing from pre-apprentice to journeyman to master technician, and launching your own small business. Learn: What does a career as an HVAC/R tech look like? Why should you consider becoming an HVAC/R tech? How do you become a successful craftsman as an HVAC/R tech? How much can you make as an HVAC/R tech? What are your career options once you become an HVAC/R tech? How long does it take to be successful at each stage in a HVAC/R tech's career? How and where do you find work as an HVAC/R tech? What does it take to strike out on your own? What does it take to launch and build a successful small business? At Your Best is the only step-by-step handbook to finding if a career in the trades is right for you, educating yourself and earning the proper certifications, establishing yourself as an excellent apprentice and journeyman in the industry, and moving on to start your own small business in the trades. At each step of the way, your At Your Best playbook provides the information, recommendations, outside resources, and concrete actions needed for taking the next successful step in You, Inc. Whether you are beginning your first career, changing careers, or ready to move up and start your own business as a carpenter, plumber, HVAC/R tech, or other tradesman, this is the book that will tell you how. There currently over 6.5 million unfilled jobs in the skilled trades in the US. Despite being well-paying and secure, these jobs remain open because enough qualified candidates with the skills, attitude, and experience required do not exist. Moreover, plenty of opportunity exists for established tradespeople to start their own business, but they have no guidance. The At Your Best Playbooks series changes that.

For courses in HVACR   Comprehensively introduces the fundamentals of HVACR in digestible units, supported by hundreds of colorful visual aids Written in a style thatis easy to understand, this Third Edition of Fundamentals of HVACR introduces the principles of heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration. The book is comprehensive enough to be used as the basis not only for HVACR courses, but for entire HVACR programs. Units are short and digestible, presenting complex material in a concise, straightforward manner without ever dumbing down its topics. Compared to other, similar texts, Fundamentals of HVACR is visually stunning, featuring 2900 supporting photographs, illustrations, drawings, and diagrams--most of them in full color. The Third Edition has been revised to reflect expanded coverage of electricity, motor controls, motor applications, new technologies, regulations, and changes in the HVACR market, and remains the most up-to-date HVACR text available.   Also available with MyHVACLab® Created specifically for Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration students and instructors, MyHVACLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with Stanfield and Skaves's, Fundamentals of HVACR, Third Edition. It's designed to support students' mastery and application of the HVAC skills they'll need for a successful career. It provides 24/7 eText access, multimedia resources, and pre-built assignments that allow instructors to measure student performance and personalize the HVAC learning experience.   Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab(tm) & Mastering(tm) does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab & Mastering, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.   If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab & Mastering, search for:   0134486161 / 9780134486161 Fundamentals of HVACR Plus MyHVACLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134016165 / 9780134016160 Fundamentals of HVACR 0134017897 / 9780134017891 MyHVACLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Fundamentals of HVACR, 3/e

Print Reading for HVACR is a comprehensive text and write-in workbook that introduces students to reading and interpreting HVACR prints for commercial and residential applications. This text provides students with in-depth coverage of HVACR topics, foundational print reading skills, and real-world practice required for success in the HVACR field. Bundled with the text are 27 (17" x 22") large prints for students to use as a resource to become familiar with professional HVACR prints. This text offers thorough chapter review and print reading activities to increase content mastery and provide on-the-job experience.  

Develop the knowledge and skills you need to maintain and troubleshoot today�s complex heating, air conditioning, and refrigeration systems with REFRIGERATION AND AIR CONDITIONING TECHNOLOGY, 8th Edition. This practical, easy-to-understand book provides hands-on guidance, practical applications, and the solid foundation you need to fully understand today�s HVAC service and repair, its environmental challenges, and their solutions. Focused on sustainable technology in today�s HVAC/R industry with an emphasis on new technologies and green awareness, the 8th Edition covers the latest advances in the industry and the all-important soft skills and customer relations issues that impact customer satisfaction and employment success. Memorable examples, more than 260 supporting photos, and unique Service Call features bring concepts to life and help you develop the critical skills you need for success in your future career.Now available with this text is The Complete HVAC Lab Manual, which features over 250 lab exercises, covering 15 topic areas. See the supplements section for more details.