Dental Hygiene and Assisting: Books

Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Preferred Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, Navigate 2 TestPrep, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Staying true to Esther Wilkins' pioneering vision that made her best-selling text the "Bible" for dental hygienists, Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, Thirteenth Edition progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward format to ensure students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today's rapidly changing oral health care environment.This cornerstone text, used in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, has been meticulously updated by previous co-authors, Linda Boyd and Charlotte Wyche, and new co-author Lisa Mallonee to even better meet the needs of today's students and faculty, while reflecting the current state of practice in dental hygiene. Maintaining the hallmark outline format, the Thirteenth Edition continues to offer the breadth and depth necessary not only for foundation courses but for use throughout the entire dental hygiene curriculum.

The ADA Dental Drug Handbook contains the latest information from dental pharmacology's leading experts. Intended for use by practicing dentists, students, dental educators, it covers the drugs most commonly used in the dental practice, with information about dosage, possible interactions, potential complications and more. Patients are being prescribed more medications today than ever before, and the dental team is confronted with many considerations when treating patients. This book contains five sections; the main section focuses on drugs used by the dentist, and other sections include pediatric management, dental office emergencies, handling patients with specific medical conditions, and useful tables. Each chapter starts with a brief overview of the category and contains easy-to-use monographs with sample prescriptions, contraindications, precautions, drug interactions, common side effects, and more. This easy-to-read, spiral bound reference covers drugs used in dentistry, such as analgesics, antibiotics, antifungals, antivirals, anxiolytics, fluorides, local anesthetics and corticosteroids; smoking cessation, salivary management and oral lesion treatments; OTC products with the ADA Seal of Acceptance; ADA Guidelines on procedures such as general anesthesia, antibiotic prophylaxis and medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw; diabetic events; drug management for pediatrics, emergency situations, and special care patients such as pregnant patients and the elderly.

Comprehensive and easy-to-understand, Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist, Enhanced 5th Edition equips dental hygiene students with up-to-date, evidence-based coverage of periodontal anatomy, the periodontal disease process, and classifications of periodontal disease.Rather than presenting information in narrative style, the author--a leading expert in the field--uses a detailed outline format, making the information easier to read, understand, and reference. Rich with engaging learning features and student resources, the Enhanced 5th Edition has been revised and updated throughout to reflect the hygienist's increasingly important role in periodontal therapy and to help students confidently apply what they've learned to clinical patient care situations.

If you are interested in a career in the dental assistants and hygienists (the allied health field, as it is often called), you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Dental Assistants and Hygienists includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers three main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Dental assistants -Dental hygienists -Dental technicians

Walking dental hygiene students step-by-step through the "how to"--not just the "what" and "why"--of using periodontal and root instruments, this 8th Edition of Jill Gehrig's definitive resource features new chapters, new online technique videos, updated coverage of the latest evidence-based techniques and equipment, and an expanded array of online teaching and learning resources.Designed to make it easy for students to learn instrumentation, this practical book first takes students through basic skills--patient positioning, intraoral finger rests, and basic instrumentation--then covers advanced techniques, including assessment of periodontal patients and instrumentation of the root branches of multirooted teeth, root concavities, and furcation areas.

Back and better than ever, Darby and Walsh's Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice, 5th Edition offers everything you need to succeed in your coursework, at certification, and in clinical practice. No other dental hygiene text incorporates the clinical skills, theory, and evidence-based practice in such an approachable way. All discussions - from foundational concepts to diagnosis to pain management - are presented within the context of a unique patient-centered model that takes the entire person into consideration. New to this fifth edition is a much more streamlined approach - one that stays focused on need-to-know information, yet also houses expanded content on things like alternative practice settings, pediatric care, risk assessment, and dental hygiene diagnosis to give you added context when needed. This edition is also filled with new modern illustrations and new clinical photos to augment your learning. If you want a better grasp of all the dental hygienist's roles and responsibilities in today's practice, they Darby and Walsh's renowned text is a must-have. Focus on research and evidence-base practice provide proven findings and practical applications for topics of interest in modern dental hygiene care. Step-by-step procedure boxes with accompanying illustrations, clinical photos, and rationales outline the equipment required and the steps involved in performing key procedures. Critical thinking exercises, cases, and scenarios help hone your application and problem-solving skills. Feature boxes highlight patient education, law, ethics, and safety. UNIQUE! Discussions of theory provide a solid foundation for practice. Key terms are called out within chapters and defined in glossary with cross-references to chapters. Practice quizzes enable you to self-assess your understanding. NEW! Streamlined approach focuses on the information you need to know along with the practical applications. NEW! Added content covers alternative practice settings, new infection control guidelines, pediatric care, risk assessment, dental hygiene diagnosis, the electronic health record (EHR), and more. NEW! Modern illustrations and updated clinical photos give you a better picture of how to perform essential skills and utilize clinical technology. NEW! Online procedures videos guide you step-by-step through core clinical skills. NEW! Editorial team brings a fresh perspective and more than 30 years of experience in dental hygiene education, practice, and research.

Clinical Cases in Dental Hygiene is an indispensable resource to understanding both the theory and practice of dental hygiene, illustrated by real-life cases in a clinically relevant format.  Offers a unique case-based format that supports problem-based learning Promotes independent learning through self-assessment and critical thinking Includes a wealth of relevant cases for understanding dental procedures and management of patients Covers all essential topics within the scope of dental hygiene

With a focus on the most commonly used drugs in dentistry, Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, 8th Editionprovides you with an in-depth understanding of the pharmacologic principles needed for safe and effective dental treatment and oral health care. It discusses drug properties and mechanisms of action, dosages, intended effects, interactions, and adverse reactions - both for the medications a patient may already be taking and for the drugs prescribed by the dentist. This new edition has been updated throughout to give you a firm foundation in pharmacology in order to assess and educate patients so they can maintain optimal oral health! IMPROVED! Test Bank with cognitive leveling based on Bloom's Taxonomy mapped to the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) blueprint. Comprehensive coverage with a dental focus provides you with an in-depth understanding of the most commonly used drugs, how they work, and how they affect patients' oral health and dental treatment options. Multiple opportunities for classroom and board exam prep offers summaries and review questions at the end of each chapter, helping you to assess your knowledge of the material. Key terms are bolded and in color within each chapter and defined in a handy glossary. Full-color design engages the reader and includes additional illustrations showing basic principles and internal processes, along with photographs of oral conditions and side effects. Separate drug index provides easy look-up of specific drugs and types of drugs. Quick-reference appendixes include resources such as the top 200 drugs, medical acronyms, and information on herbal and dietary supplements. NEW! Updated drug content throughout, including new side effects and warnings for many commonly seen drugs. NEW! Elsevier Animation Collection clips on Evolve includes systemic anatomy and physiology.

An essential dental resource that goes beyond education! Mosby's Dental Dictionary, 4th Edition is the must-have, pocket-sized reference covering all areas of dentistry that's designed for both students and practitioners. This new edition defines over 10,000 terms on dynamic areas of dentistry, including materials, imaging, surgery, orthodontics, pain control, and more. Throughout the text, over 300 illustrations address new innovations, research, technology, and products in the field, and extensive appendices provide quick access to the information you will use every day. Plus, a free companion website contains more than 5,000 audio pronunciations, 500 additional images, videos, and animations to help illustrate key concepts. Portable size offers convenience as a chair-side or computer-side reference. Companion website includes over 5,000 audio pronunciations, an expanded image collection, and videos and animations. Bolded pronunciations indicate terms that may be heard on the companion website. Practical appendices (in print and online) provide a reference to abbreviations, clinical oral structures, anesthesia color codes, implants, and more. Colored thumb tabs make it easy to locate definitions quickly. NEW! Terms on dynamic areas of dentistry, include materials, imaging, surgery, orthodontics, pain control, and more! NEW! Artwork, includes photos of the latest equipment, clinical techniques and modern illustrations to bring key concepts to life. NEW! Expanded audio pronunciations on the companion website ensures you're using the correct pronunciations of complex terms. NEW! Who's-who of dentistry Editorial Board features expert editor Margaret Fehrenbach - Dental Hygienist, Oral Biologist, Educational Consultant, Dental Science Writer, and Dental Hygiene Instructor.

Learn dental assisting top to bottom from the best, with the most comprehensive, most current, and most trusted text available. For more than 40 years, students and practitioners alike have relied on Modern Dental Assisting for its cutting-edge content, easy-to-grasp writing style, step-by-step procedures, engaging learning features, and top-notch visuals to master all aspects of dental assisting. The 12th edition showcases a brand-new illustration program and content on technological advances, public health and access to care, teledentistry, infection control guidelines, the Zika virus, Ebola, the oral-systemic health connection, and much more. Written by trusted experts Doni Bird and Debbie Robinson, this is the all-in-one learning resource you need to stay ahead of the curve in the modern world of dental assisting. Comprehensive, cutting edge content provides a single, start-to-finish source for dental assisting training. Step-by-step procedures use color coding, key-step icons, and clinical photos to demonstrate key dental assisting competencies for both general and expanded functions - detailing for each the equipment and supplies, chronological steps, and rationales. 70 procedural videos with questions and answers provide you with unlimited practice for clinical encounters.  UNIQUE! Interactive Dental Office program features 25 in-depth case studies with questions, online periodontal charting, and radiographic mounting exercises to help you problem-solve their way through a wide variety of dental conditions and procedures. Recall and Critical Thinking questions in each chapter as well as self-assessment questions and an online mock exam provide robust opportunities for practice and application. Feature boxes on CDC guidelines, patient education, law and ethics, and future trends summarize recommendations and key applications in practice. Chapter key terms are defined at the beginning of each chapter, highlighted within text discussions, and cross-referenced to chapters within the glossary. Learning and performance outcomes help you focus on goals, serve as checkpoints for comprehension and skills mastery, and provide study tools for exam preparation. NEW! Content on the latest topics affecting dental assisting practice includes technological advancements, public health and access to care, teledentistry, infection control guidelines, the Zika virus, Ebola, the oral-systemic health connection, and much more. Revised art program provides vivid original renderings of dental anatomy tooth morphology and dental imaging, along with modern and improved photos of the latest products, equipment, and instruments.