Medical Assisting: Books

On a daily basis, healthcare professionals are faced with many ethical situations along with legal implications. Applied Law and Ethics for Health Professionals, Second Edition tackles ethical situations and the potential legal impacts that many healthcare professionals may face in their careers and asks them to consider their own personal values system and use reasoning skills to come to an informed outcome. Modern cases and topics are discussed, offering real-world ethical and legal accounts that may impact professionals in the field. As the text concludes, readers are again asked to gauge their growth, exploring their newly formed knowledge, values, and opinions on healthcare ethics.

For courses in comprehensive medical assisting. A companion for practicum, for the future allied health professional Succeeding in the Practicum offers a full picture of the practicum experience, including its value and purpose, the expectations for all aspects of the journey, and the benefits and opportunities it presents. Students gain the skills they need to handle new challenges, act responsibly, and develop professionally as they prepare to move into the workforce. Critical thinking, journaling, and role-play activities help learners optimize and reflect on their practicum as they go. Available with a new MyLabTM, the 3rd edition builds on practical guidance for job searches, interviews, and effective communication. Also available with MyLab Health Professions By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. Developed for allied health students and instructors, MyLab Health Professions supports students' mastery and application of the skills they'll need for a successful career in health care. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Health Professions does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Health Professions, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab Health Professions, search for: 0134880102 / 9780134880105 Succeeding in the Practicum: A Preparation Guide for Medical Assisting and Allied Health Plus MyLab Health Professions with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package, 3/e Package consists of: 0134861930 / 9780134861937 MyLab Health Professions with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Succeeding in the Practicum: A Preparation Guide for Medical Assisting and Allied Health, 3e 013487420X / 9780134874203 Succeeding in the Practicum: A Preparation Guide for Medical Assisting and Allied Health, 3e

There's no better way to get ready for your Medical Assisting certification exam! With some 2,500 practice questions and customized online tests, Elsevier's Medical Assisting Exam Review, 5th Edition provides complete preparation for all six certification exams - the CMA, RMA, CMAS, CCMA, CMAA, and CMAC. An illustrated, outline format makes it easy to review key medical assisting concepts and competencies, including anatomy and physiology, medical terminology, diseases and disorders, and administrative and clinical tasks. Written by medical assisting educator Deborah Holmes, this review includes answers and rationales for each question to help you strengthen any weak areas and prepare effectively for your certification exam. UNIQUE! Six certification exams are covered: the CMA (AAMA), RMA (AMT), CMAS (AMT), CCMA (NHA), CMAA (NHT), and CMAC (AMCA). Convenient, easy-to-follow outline format provides at-a-glance review of the subject areas typically found on certification exams for Medical Assisting. Complete test preparation includes three pretests - administrative, clinical, and general - as well as a comprehensive posttest, with answers and rationales for all questions. Study tips and test-taking strategies provide advice and insight into preparing effectively for your certification exam. Hundreds of additional practice questions are included on the Evolve companion website, along with flash cards and A&P animations, to boost your exam readiness and test-taking confidence. NEW! 2,500 questions - including 550 all-new questions - include answers, rationales, and mapping to six exam blueprints (CMA, RMA, CMAS, CCMA, CMAA, and CMAC).  NEW content includes coverage of the Affordable Care Act, ICD-10, electronic office systems, vaccination updates, and more. NEW! Online test generator allows you to focus your practice on any topic and to create timed simulated exams. NEW! Records Management chapter tackles both paper management and Electronic Health Records, emphasizing the most up-to-date electronic ways to manage records. UPDATED! High-quality illustrations reinforce your understanding of medical assisting content and include photos of clinical equipment and supplies.

Comprehensive Medical Assisting begins with Kinn! Elsevier's 60th Anniversary edition of Kinn's The Medical Assistant, 13th Edition provides you with real-world administrative and clinical skills that are essential to working in the modern medical office. An applied learning approach to the MA curriculum is threaded throughout each chapter to help you further develop the tactile and critical thinking skills necessary for working in today's healthcare setting. Paired with our adaptive solutions, real -world simulations, EHR documentation and HESI remediation and assessment, you will learn the leading skills of modern administrative and clinical medical assisting in the classroom! Basics of Diagnostic Coding prepares you to use the ICD-10 coding system. Learning objectives listed in the same order as content makes it easy to review material. Clinical procedures integrated into the TOC give you a quick reference point. Professional behavior boxes provide guidelines on how to interact with patients, families, and coworkers. Patient education and legal and ethical issues are described in relation to the Medical Assistant's job. Applied approach to learning helps you use what you've learned in the clinical setting. Learning objectives and vocabulary with definitions highlight what's important in each chapter. Critical thinking applications test your understanding of the content. Step-by-step procedures explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Rationales for each procedure clarify the need for each step and explains why it's being performed. Portfolio builder helps you demonstrate your mastery of the material to potential employers. NEW! Chapter on The Health Record reviews how you'll be working with a patient's medical record. NEW! Chapter on Technology in the Medical Office introduces you to the role EHR technology plays in the medical office. NEW! Chapter on Competency-Based Education helps you understand how your mastery of the material will affect your ability to get a job. NEW! Clinical procedure videos helps you visualize and review key procedures.

Administrative Medical Assisting, Second Edition, provides readers with a thorough understanding of the administrative areas of medical assisting--from communication styles to insurance billing to patient safety and more. This text fully addresses the administrative competencies of both the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES) and the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) for medical assisting programs. The text's teaching and learning package includes an Instructor Resource Guide, a Student Workbook, and more. ¿ Teaching and Learning Experience: Provides extensive coverage of the administrative medical assisting profession Meets the highest standards outlined by CAAHEP and ABHES, and provides all of the tools needed for student success Loaded with critical thinking exercises, real-world scenarios, and learning tools throughout Also available with MyHealthProfessionsLabTM This title is also available with MyHealthProfessionsLab-an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with this text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students practice what they learn and test their understanding to help them better absorb course material and understand difficult concepts Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyHealthProfessionsLab, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.