Paralegal Studies: eBooks

What is law? Why do we need a general theory of what law is? And what does it have to do with legal practice? This title draws on work in the theory of action to offer a compelling answer to this perennial philosophical question. It argues that legal systems are not defined by rules but by plans.

Buy a new version of this textbook and receive access to the Connected eBook with Study Center on Casebook Connect, including lifetime access to the online ebook with highlight, annotation, and search capabilities. Access also includes practice questions, an outline tool, and other helpful resources. Connected eBooks provide what you need most to be successful in your law school classes. With the authors' effective step-by-step approach, The Legal Writing Handbook:Analysis, Research, and Writing walks students through each of the stages of the writing process from pre-writing, drafting, and editing, to the final draft. A leading text for generations of law students, the Eighth Edition gives students a head start as they move into practice. The Legal Writing Handbook offers a complete resource on legal writing. Part I provides students with an introduction to the U.S. Legal System; Part II gives an overview of legal research, with both an introduction to sources and to research strategies; Part III introduces students to predictive memos, e-memos, and client letters; Part IV covers motion briefs; Part V offers an overview of appellate briefs; Part VI introduces oral advocacy; Part VII is a guide to effective writing; Part VIII is a guide to correct writing; and Part IX focuses on the needs of ESL writers. With a new streamlined organization and completely updated content, this is the only book on legal writing students will ever need. New to the Eighth Edition: Streamlined organization with chapters focused on key topics New appendix with easy reference to all the Quick Tips to improve legal writing Updated and added discussion throughout the book on the role of bias in legal language and argumentation A new chapter introducing rhetoric and bias Professors and student will benefit from: Given the breadth of coverage, the book can be easily adapted for two-, three-, or four-semester programs. Multiple examples and sample documents--­this text demystifies legal writing. Helpful overview of the American legal system Step-by-step instruction on how to write formal memos, e-memos, and opinion letters Step-by-step instruction on how to write motion and appellate briefs In-depth instruction on how to write and edit effectively and correctly Resources for ESL law students With online Connected Coursebook access, students receive additional exercises with sample answers and other helpful resources.

American Constitutional Law: Essays, Cases, and Comparative Notes is a unique casebook that encourages citizens and students of the Constitution to think critically about the fundamental principles and policies of the American constitutional order. In addition to its distinguished authorship, the book has two prominent features that set it apart from other books in the field: an emphasis on the social, political, and moral theory that provides meaning to constitutional law and interpretation, and a comparative perspective that situates the American experience within a world context that serves as an invaluable prism through which to illuminate the special features of our own constitutional order. While the focus of the book is entirely on American constitutional law, the book asks students to consider what, if anything, is unique in American constitutional life and what we share with other constitutional democracies. Each chapter is preceded by an introductory essay that highlights these major themes and also situates the cases in their proper historical and political contexts.This new edition offers updated and expanded treatment of a number of important and timely topics, including gerrymandering and campaign finance. Volume 1 of this text focuses on governmental structures and relationships and includes a chapter on elections and political representation.

In a sophisticated defense of intellectual property, Merges draws on Kant, Locke, and Rawls to explain how IP rights are based on a solid ethical foundation and make sense for a just society. He also calls for appropriate boundaries: IP rights are real, but they come with real limits.

This landmark book has long been the gold standard of concise summaries of important U.S. Supreme Court cases in U.S. constitutional law. The book incorporates every facet of constitutional law, including the powers and privileges of the three branches of the national government, federalism, war powers, and extensive briefs on civil rights and liberties. This new edition has been thoroughly revised, reorganized, and updated through the end of the 2008 term.