Paralegal Studies: Books

Organizing legal citation into 40 thoroughly cogent and illustrated rules, the Guide is the ideal coursebook, supplement, or stand-alone reference for American legal citation. Students, law review staff, scholars, and practitioners can rely on the Guide 7E to provide precise citation rules for the full spectrum of legal sources, consistent with national standards. The clear explanations, examples, diagrams, and quick-reference tables in the Guide make teaching and researching legal citation efficient and stress-free for all. New to the Seventh Edition: Expanded and updated coverage of how to cite to the multitude of e-sources that practitioners and students use when conducting legal research in the real world today, including new and revised component diagrams and examples New appendix helps law review staff writers cross-reference the Guide's citation rules with traditional legal citation standards Updated and revised Guide rules that are consistent with traditional legal citation standards Appendix 5 free online access to expanded list of periodical titles that can be updated frequently Appendix 2 free online access to coverage of local legal citation rules that can be updated frequently Professors and student will benefit from: Coverage of online media, such as e-books, listservs, forums, blogs, and social media Tips and directions for finding local rules Citing to case reporters, statutes, legislation, and regulations found on e-sources "Academic Formatting" icons note differences in citation style between academic legal writing and professional legal writing Fast Formats preview and refresh understanding of essential citation components Screenshots from electronic sources and snapshots of actual pages Sidebars explain the "why" of legal citations and how to avoid common errors Sample citation diagrams that illustrate the essential components of citation construction Cross-references within each rule connects content in other rules or in the Appendices Over 140 subsections with information not found in a traditional legal citation manual Detailed Appendices with abbreviations for use in citations and with information not found in other sources such as: Peer reviewed local court citation conventions, websites, and other resources Additional periodicals with full title abbreviations so writers do not have to memorize spacing rules to assemble abbreviations themselves Comprehensive rules for citing federal taxation materials

Phillips's A Practical Guide to Legal Research and Analysis for Paralegal and Legal Studies Students distills legal analysis and research to a series of concrete skills that can be acquired chapter-by-chapter. The approachable writing style invites students to engage in active thinking and questioning. The text introduces skills and patterns of legal analysis in small pieces so students can master them bit by bit, with ample opportunity to practice using the creative end-of-chapter exercises. Students are guided step-by-step through an analysis exercise so that they can replicate the process. Students then practice the process in an end-of-chapter exercise, and later use the skill in drafting a memo or a motion as explained in the last two chapters. The book's conversational style makes it easy to read and makes legal analysis easy to grasp.

Buy a new version of this textbook and receive access to the Connected eBook with Study Center on Casebook Connect, including lifetime access to the online ebook with highlight, annotation, and search capabilities. Access also includes practice questions, an outline tool, and other helpful resources. Connected eBooks provide what you need most to be successful in your law school classes. With the authors' effective step-by-step approach, The Legal Writing Handbook:Analysis, Research, and Writing walks students through each of the stages of the writing process from pre-writing, drafting, and editing, to the final draft. A leading text for generations of law students, the Eighth Edition gives students a head start as they move into practice. The Legal Writing Handbook offers a complete resource on legal writing. Part I provides students with an introduction to the U.S. Legal System; Part II gives an overview of legal research, with both an introduction to sources and to research strategies; Part III introduces students to predictive memos, e-memos, and client letters; Part IV covers motion briefs; Part V offers an overview of appellate briefs; Part VI introduces oral advocacy; Part VII is a guide to effective writing; Part VIII is a guide to correct writing; and Part IX focuses on the needs of ESL writers. With a new streamlined organization and completely updated content, this is the only book on legal writing students will ever need. New to the Eighth Edition: Streamlined organization with chapters focused on key topics New appendix with easy reference to all the Quick Tips to improve legal writing Updated and added discussion throughout the book on the role of bias in legal language and argumentation A new chapter introducing rhetoric and bias Professors and student will benefit from: Given the breadth of coverage, the book can be easily adapted for two-, three-, or four-semester programs. Multiple examples and sample documents--­this text demystifies legal writing. Helpful overview of the American legal system Step-by-step instruction on how to write formal memos, e-memos, and opinion letters Step-by-step instruction on how to write motion and appellate briefs In-depth instruction on how to write and edit effectively and correctly Resources for ESL law students With online Connected Coursebook access, students receive additional exercises with sample answers and other helpful resources.

The new Thirteenth Edition of the popular Problems in Legal Ethics has been thoroughly reviewed and completely updated. While retaining its popular problem-centered focus, the new edition integrates a significant number of new cases, as well as additional formal ethics opinions, new discussion problems, and new multiple-choice questions. Engaging, approachable, concise, and up-to-date, this practical new edition ensures that students understand the ethical responsibilities and potential ethical pitfalls encountered in the practice of law.

The Fifth Edition of An Introduction to the American Legal System provides both historical context and thoroughly up-to-date coverage of all aspects of American law and the legal system. Vivid examples, on-point case summaries, and hot-button issues make this text an obvious choice for paralegal, criminal justice, political science, or legal studies courses. New to the Fifth Edition: This edition of An Introduction to the American Legal System introduces a broad reorganization of the text into four parts that are easily grasped by students: Foundations of the Legal System examines the origins of American law and the important institutions and actors of our present system. Public Law covers those areas of the law that govern the relationships between society, government, and the individual. Private Law explains those areas of the law that deal primarily with the rights and duties of private parties. The Legal Process provides an overview of legal procedure. New chapters on civil rights and civil liberties speak to students' interests and the importance of these issues in today's society. A new chapter on appellate procedure exhibits the role of judicial review in civil, criminal and administrative contexts. An expanded chapter on administrative law demonstrates the current importance of administrative agencies in the policymaking process. Recent Supreme Court decisions are covered throughout the book. Professors and students will benefit from: Comprehensive coverage of law and the legal system Updated coverage of the Supreme Court through the 2018-19 Term Clear prose Extensive citations Comprehensive glossary of legal terms Thought-provoking discussion questions

Using an effective "learn by doing" approach, Wills, Trusts, and Estates for Legal Assistants emphasizes examples and applications, and includes hundreds of real life situations with detailed explanations. Students understand what the rules of law mean and how they apply in a real world context. The complete topic coverage introduces wills and trusts, intestate succession, estate administration, nonprobate transfers, and other estate planning issues such as taxes and malpractice. A balanced, experienced author team skillfully blends theory with practice and extensive pedagogy reinforces the text, with marginal terms and a glossary, ethical points, checklists, practice tips, and sample forms. The instructor's manual provides a summary of chapters, a model course outline, exam questions, assignment ideas, exercises, and a research guide for wills, trusts, and estates. New to the Sixth Edition: The impact of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act on federal income, gift, estate, and generation-skipping transfer taxes Rights and liabilities of same-sex spouses Electronic wills and access to a decedent's digital assets Techniques for demonstrating testamentary capacity Directed trusts and trusts authorizing trustees to consider environmental, social, and governance factors in making investment decisions Modifying the terms of an irrevocable trust by "decanting" Professors and students will benefit from: lively, lucid, and conversational style grabs and holds students' interest learning-by-doing approach gives students a concrete grasp of abstract concepts Practice Tips guide students through the critical process of preparing and managing files flexible structure allows professors to follow the presentation of concepts in the book or organize the chapters to fit their syllabus

Designed for today's student, eDiscovery for the Legal Professional introduces the basics of electronic discovery. In the current, fast-paced legal environment, legal professionals need to understand how technology influences the practice of law, how to communicate this information to their clients, and the most cost-effective discovery tools available. This text offers comprehensive and timely coverage, including historical development of the eDiscovery field, substantive legal precedent and case studies, procedural changes based on recent revisions to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, practical application of eDiscovery tools and resources, discussion of changing technology definitions, usage and trends, and ethical considerations for the legal professional when managing electronic discovery and data. Professors and students will benefit from: Accessible text that explains technical eDiscovery concepts in layman terms. Up-to-date discussion of current Federal Rules of Civil Procedure covering eDiscovery. Effective pedagogy with Examples and Exercises in every chapter, excerpts from cases and the Federal Rules, helpful lists and summaries, and Key Points that highlight essential concepts and practical applications. Key topics covered include: Impact of Electronically Stored Information (ESI) on discovery, Data Management, Case Management, Spoliation, and Ethical Considerations such as competence, confidentiality, and informed consent. A comprehensive glossary that helps students with new and unfamiliar vocabulary