English: Program Guide

BUSINESS COMMUNICATION: IN PERSON, IN PRINT, ONLINE, offers a realistic approach to communication in today's organizations. The text covers the most important business communication concepts in detail and thoroughly integrates coverage of today's social media and other communication technologies. Building on core written and oral communication skills, the ninth edition helps readers make sound medium choices and provides guidelines and examples for the many ways people communicate at work.

How to Write a Technical Report covers topics such as; planning the report, writing and creating the report and presenting the report. Contents include sections discussing creating slides with presentation graphics programs; details about text accentuation, using graphics and understanding copyright laws.

Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements, facts common to most sources like author, title, and publication date that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.

The most trusted anthology for complete works, balanced selections, and helpful editorial apparatus, The Norton Anthology of American Literature, Shorter Ninth Edition, features a cover-to-cover revision. General Editor Robert Levine and the four period editors--three of whom are new to the team--have reenergized the anthology. Fresh scholarship, NEW authors and topical clusters, a NEW ebook, and an enriched instructor site make the Norton Anthology an even better teaching tool for instructors and an unmatched value for students.

This much-needed guide to translated literature offers readers the opportunity to hear from, learn about, and perhaps better understand our shrinking world from the perspective of insiders from many cultures and traditions. In a globalized world, knowledge about non-North American societies and cultures is a must. Contemporary World Fiction: A Guide to Literature in Translation provides an overview of the tremendous range and scope of translated world fiction available in English. In so doing, it will help readers get a sense of the vast world beyond North America that is conveyed by fiction titles from dozens of countries and language traditions. Within the guide, approximately 1,000 contemporary non-English-language fiction titles are fully annotated and thousands of others are listed. Organization is primarily by language, as language often reflects cultural cohesion better than national borders or geographies, but also by country and culture. In addition to contemporary titles, each chapter features a brief overview of earlier translated fiction from the group. The guide also provides in-depth bibliographic essays for each chapter that will enable librarians and library users to further explore the literature of numerous languages and cultural traditions.

This is a book about discovering how you do creative writing. How you begin, how you structure, how your writing process works, how a work embodies movement and change, what influences you, and, ultimately, how you end. Discovering Creative Writing points you toward clues that can assist you in understanding your own creative writing as well as the creative writing of others. This book is both a practical guide and a critical examination that empowers the reader to find things out and use that information to develop and support their own creative writing. This book will enable students of creative writing at both undergraduate and postgraduate level to deepen their understanding of their practice, and will be a valuable guide and inspiration for anyone wishing to begin, continue, or improve their writing.

Writing is a daunting activity not only for language learners; it is, in fact, challenging for everyone who wants to communicate their thoughts persuasively and accurately. When students engage in speaking activities, they communicate extraordinarily interesting ideas and thoughts. However, when asked to write these ideas down into coherent texts, they seem helpless. This book is intended to help students tackle their writing challenges by proposing a different approach to writing. It incorporates grammar, vocabulary, literature, and writing into a simultaneous and coherent whole, presided by reflective thinking. There is hardly any doubt that writing and reading are related activities, and that both rely on creating meaning. When we read, as well as when we write, we find ourselves in the process of becoming. We change our knowledge and understanding along the way. In truth, today more than ever learning a language needs to be perceived as a deeply meaningful process. This book is meant to make that possible by rendering learning both enjoyable and meaningful.

The first book that literature students should read, this guide reveals the distinct set of skills, conventions and methods of essay and dissertation writing. Taking students through the various stages of writing, from planning to final submission, it offers specific guidelines and a lively, detailed commentary on actual examples of student work at each stage.

Ever wondered why we can say "Maria made the boy cry" but not "Maria made the boy crying"? Or why "Two coffees, please" is acceptable, but "Melvin loves coffees" is generally wrong? Or why we say "It has been raining since ten", even though nobody asks "What did you say has been raining"? These are some puzzles that will be examined in The Nuts and Bolts of English Grammar. This book will help you understand what English grammar is and how it works. It will show how English combines parts of words to form longer words, how words change their form and combine with other words to form phrases, and how phrases are subsequently combined to form clauses and sentences and texts. Grammar is made both interesting and practical with real-life grammar puzzles. Will this book help you to improve your grammar? Probably, because if you've gained a better understanding of grammar by the time you reach the end of this book, you should be able to analyse your own sentences in ways you've never done before, and spot and avoid common grammatical errors.