Dental Hygiene: Program Guide

With a focus on the most commonly used drugs in dentistry, Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist, 8th Editionprovides you with an in-depth understanding of the pharmacologic principles needed for safe and effective dental treatment and oral health care. It discusses drug properties and mechanisms of action, dosages, intended effects, interactions, and adverse reactions - both for the medications a patient may already be taking and for the drugs prescribed by the dentist.

Clinical Cases in Dental Hygiene is an indispensable resource to understanding both the theory and practice of dental hygiene, illustrated by real-life cases in a clinically relevant format.  Offers a unique case-based format that supports problem-based learning Promotes independent learning through self-assessment and critical thinking Includes a wealth of relevant cases for understanding dental procedures and management of patients Covers all essential topics within the scope of dental hygiene

If you are interested in a career in the dental assistants and hygienists (the allied health field, as it is often called), you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Dental Assistants and Hygienists includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers three main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. Dental assistants Dental hygienists Dental technicians

.Comprehensive and easy-to-understand, Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist, Enhanced 5th Edition equips dental hygiene students with up-to-date, evidence-based coverage of periodontal anatomy, the periodontal disease process, and classifications of periodontal disease.Rather than presenting information in narrative style, the author--a leading expert in the field--uses a detailed outline format, making the information easier to read, understand, and reference. Rich with engaging learning features and student resources, the Enhanced 5th Edition has been revised and updated throughout to reflect the hygienist's increasingly important role in periodontal therapy and to help students confidently apply what they've learned to clinical patient care situations.

Staying true to Esther Wilkins' pioneering vision that made her best-selling text the "Bible" for dental hygienists, Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, Thirteenth Edition progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward format to ensure students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today's rapidly changing oral health care environment..

Dentists face many considerations when treating patients and prescribing medication. This ADA quick reference, created by a team of dentists, pharmacists, scientists, and experts in pharmacology, serves as a clinical educational resource to deliver concise and accurate information about prescribed medications used in dentistry. The second edition of the ADA Dental Drug Handbook has been revised to include the latest, most up-to-date information to assist in treating patients. This handbook presents information on commonly encountered drugs in the dental office in an easy-to-follow format, making it a go-to drug reference for dental professionals.Topics include: Drugs used in dentistry, such as analgesics, antifungals, antivirals, anxiolytics, fluorides, local anesthetics and corticosteroids; Detailed, full-color drug monographs with black box warnings, cautions and contraindications, potential adverse reactions, possible drug interactions and more; Sample prescriptions with dosage, frequency and route of admnistration; Smoking cessation, salivary management and oral lesion treatment; OTC products with the ADA Seal of Acceptance;ADA resources on procedures such as general anesthesia, antibiotic prophylaxis and medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw. Useful tables presenting adverse drug reactions, drug-drug interactions and generic brands; Drug management for pediatrics, emergency situations, and special care conditions such as hypertension, pregnancy and substance abuse disorder.

This book outlines the importance of implementing comprehensive infection prevention and control practices in the dental office or other treatment setting. This revised edition features new chapters on Dental Water Quality and Special Considerations and Pandemic Preparedness and synthesizes the most current science-based recommendations for infection prevention and control in dental settings from the CDC and Federal agency rules and regulations, including OSHA, the FDA, and the EPA. The book is organized into five chapters: Chapter 1: Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control Chapter 2: Disinfection and Sterilization Chapter 3: Dental Water Quality Chapter 4: Infection Control During Clinical Procedures Chapter 5: Special Considerations and Pandemic Preparedness. Includes a self-assessment checklist of current infection control practices and review questions to reinforce important concepts. An accompanying CE quiz worth three credits is available at ADACEonline.org. 

The work of a dental hygienist is much more than cleaning teeth and performing X-rays. Dental hygienists provide a crucial service to patients, treating oral diseases and educating about the importance of dental hygiene. Become a Dental Hygienist explores the need for dental hygienists, how to become one, and what to expect from the job.

Because of increasing antibiotic resistance, stronger antibiotics are reserved for serious active infection, paving the way for a greater use of herbal antibiotics. This book helps dentists in implementing safe and effective natural medicine therapies to complement the current practice guidelines. Oral diseases continue to be a major health problem world-wide. Oral health is integral to general well-being and relates to the quality-of-life that extends beyond the functions of the craniofacial complex. The standard Western medicine has had only limited success in the prevention of periodontal disease and in the treatment of a variety of oral diseases. The dentist needs to be more informed regarding the use, safety and effectiveness of the various traditional medicines and over-the-counter products. Herbal extracts have been used in dentistry for reducing inflammation, as antimicrobial plaque agents, for preventing release of histamine and as antiseptics, antioxidants, antimicrobials, antifungals, antibacterials, antivirals and analgesics. They also aid in healing and are effective in controlling microbial plaque in gingivitis and periodontitis and thereby improving immunity. The 26 chapters in this unique book explore all the measures to utilize the natural oral care obtained from plants, animals and mineral drugs for dental care.

The dental needs of people living with dementia are often overlooked, particularly in the care home and hospital community. It is challenging to maintain good standards of oral care with people living with dementia, and poor care can increase the fear and anxiety levels of those living with dementia. Very few dentists have the training that equips them with the specialist knowledge necessary to work with this population. This pocket guide sets out tailored advice for supporting the oral and dental needs of people living with dementia. It sets out straightforward models on providing effective preventative mouth care, spotting symptoms and what to do when problems occur. This concise handbook will help any dentists, care home staff, nurses and other health professionals working day to day with people with dementia.