LibGuides: Nursing: Program Guide

Recently Added

Lippincott Advisor includes thousands of clinical topics and the latest guidelines and best practice information. It delivers clinical decision support needed to build nursing competency and confidence.

CLICK the Icon above to access the database

Mometrix eLibrary

Click the Mometrix icon for practice tests, study guides and tips to help you prepare for a certification exam. If you are off-campus, use your OKTA credentials to log-in when prompted.

Databases in GALILEO

Electronic Journals

Videos

Click the Films On Demand Icon and use your OKTA credentials for access to the complete Nursing Collection. Follow the links below for access to films recently added to the Nursing Collection.

2025 Nursing Core Collection

2025 Nursing Current Concepts and Practices

Helpful Links

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC is the nation's leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public's health.
Healthfinder
Trusted information to help you and your family stay healthy from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.
Medical News Today
Features timely podcasts, articles and information written by medical professionals.
Off the Charts
A blog of the American Journal of Nursing.
Evaluating Health Information from Medline Plus
Trusted Health Information from MedlinePlus to help students evaluate Health Information.

The Purdue Online Writing Lab

Click the OWL Icon for help with formatting your research paper

CTC Support Labs

The Library houses an Anatomy and Physiology Lab in Room L701 with models and materials for student study.
There are also several support labs on campus to assist students with subject area skills development.
Student Computer Support Lab (Patrick Hall Rm. 408)
Science Support Lab (Patrick Hall Rm 506)
Writing Support Lab (Patrick Hall Rm. 602)
Smartthinking - Free Online Tutoring (Patrick Hall Rm. 603A)
Math Support Lab (Patrick Hall Rm. 603B)

Books

2025 Nurse's Drug Handbook by Jones & Bartlett Learning
Call Number: 615.1 Jon

ISBN: 9781284304589

Publication Date: 2024-11-29

The 2025 Nurse's Drug Handbook is an up-to-date, practical, comprehensive and user-friendly drug reference guide for current nursing students and practicing nurses alike. Written in a straightforward style with approachable terminology, it offers concise and consistently formatted drug entries organized alphabetically from A-Z. The 2025 Nurse's Drug Handbook ensures that all nurses, both new and experienced, can easily access accurate information they need before administering any medication, ensuring proper patient care and safety.
ATI TEAS 7th Edition 2025-2026 Study Guide by Downs
Call Number: 610.73076 Het

ISBN: 9781637986585

Publication Date: 2025-01-17

Trivium Test Prep's ATI TEAS, 7th Edition Study Guide includes everything you need to pass the ATI TEAS the first time. The guide includes a quick review of the concepts covered on the ATI TEAS, 4 practice tests with detailed answer explanations and tips and tricks from experienced nursing educators.
Critical Care Nursing by Linda D. Urden (Editor); Kathleen M. Stacy (Editor); Mary E. Lough (Editor); Kimberly Sanchez (Editor)
Call Number: 616.025 UrdVan

ISBN: 9780443115813

Publication Date: 2025-05-06

Critical Care Nursing: Diagnosis and Management, 10th Edition is a comprehensive guide to critical care nursing concepts as they apply to clinical assessment, diagnostic procedures, and therapeutic management. Using a logical, body systems organization, this award-winning text uses an evidence-based approach to address the care of patients with critical physiological alterations. It features new disorder summary figures, Social Determinants of Health boxes, Supporting the Well-Being of Nurses boxes, Informatics boxes, and expanded resources for the Next-Generation NCLEX® Examination. Ideal for CCRN® and PCCN® exam preparation, Urden''s Critical Care Nursing helps you develop the critical thinking and clinical judgment skills required for success in progressive and critical care nursing settings.
Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! by Kimberly Giddings
Call Number: 615.1401 Gid

ISBN: 9781975236601

Publication Date: 2024-10-26

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2025! Designed to help health care professionals who are looking for a simple, step-by-step approach to math calculations, Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! 6th edition is a fully illustrated guide that offers the complete how-to on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes. It explains how to work with different formulas such as ratios, proportions, ratio proportions, and the "Desired Over Have" formula.
Essentials of Nursing Law and Ethics by Susan J. Westrick
Call Number: 174.2 Wes

ISBN: 9781284120387

Publication Date: 2026

Essentials of Nursing Law and Ethics continues its focus on the legal aspects of Nursing as it relates to patient safety and quality, environmental health and safety, error reduction and ethical boundaries of practice in an updated third edition. Written by a nurse attorney, this unique text presents complex topics to undergraduate nursing students in an understandable manner while providing accurate and well researched content relevant to nursing practice. The Third Edition was thoughtfully revised and updated to incorporate gender neutral, inclusive, patient-centered and person-first language throughout.
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice by Sandra M. NETTINA; Christine Nelson-Tuttle
Call Number: 610.73 Net

ISBN: 9781975219673

Publication Date: 2024-09-11

Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2025! The Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, 12th Edition is your trusted companion in the dynamic world of healthcare, enabling you to deliver high-quality, patient-centered care in any setting. Comprehensive, meticulously updated, and authored by nurses with more than 75 years of combined nursing experience, this essential guide offers a wealth of knowledge and practical guidance to nursing students, and support to nurses at all stages of their careers.
Lippincott Visual Nursing by Debra P. KANTOR
Call Number: 610.73022 Kan

ISBN: 9781975222154

Publication Date: 2024-10-24

For an image-rich guide to the clinical concepts and on-the-unit skills needed to treat the major common diseases, look no further than the fully updated Lippincott Visual Nursing, 4th Edition! Using clear, concise definitions backed by abundant images, this vital text explains disease pathophysiology, with expert guidance on anatomy, symptoms, assessment skills, and hands-on patient care. Ideal for students, new nurses, and experienced nurses needing a review, this is a must-have guide to providing appropriate, effective patient care.
Nursing Care Plans by Meg Gulanick; Judith L. Myers; Collin Bowman-Woodall (Editor)
Call Number: 610.73 Gul

ISBN: 9780443105272

Publication Date: 2025-02-18

Covering the most common medical-surgical nursing diagnoses and clinical problems, Nursing Care Plans: Diagnoses, Interventions, and Outcomes, 11th Edition features 232 care plans, each reflecting the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international treatment protocols. It also features ICNP diagnoses, highlighted QSEN competencies, and a clear differentiation of nursing and collaborative interventions. New to this edition are a full-color format, seven new care plans, and a new online care plan template that makes it easier to create care plans.

eBooks

Dilemmas and decisions making in Nursing: a Practice-Based Approach by Julia Hubbard
Call Number: online

ISBN: 9781040373248

Publication Date: 2023

Dilemmas and Decisions Making in Nursing is a collection of realistic but fictional scenarios exploring how nurses might work with clinical dilemmas, weigh up options and make good decisions.
Medical Nursing by Gulbeyaz Can (Editor)
Call Number: online

ISBN: 9798891131446

Publication Date: 2023-10-23

This Medical Nursing book covers many acute and chronic diseases that affect adult health. The first part of the book begins with a section on "medical nursing practice" where students can learn about the scope of medical nursing. The second part of the book deals with "homeostasis," which consists of basic information that allows students to understand the disorders associated with body systems. The next eleven parts of the book deal with the diseases of each body system such as hematological diseases, cardiovascular diseases, respiratory diseases, endocrine diseases, gastrointestinal diseases, urinary diseases, neurological diseases, oncological diseases, musculoskeletal diseases, immunological diseases, and skin diseases. Each part begins with the assessment chapter and then continues with some important diseases related to the system that that are important to health care professionals as they become more prevalent and important worldwide.
Nursing Care: An Essential Guide for Nurses and Healthcare Workers in Primary and Secondary Care by Barbara Smith
Call Number: online

ISBN: 9781138389090

Publication Date: 2020

his edition of Nursing Care: An Essential Guide for Nurses and Healthcare Workers in Primary and Secondary Care is a comprehensive introductory textbook to nursing care for pre-registration nursing students and nursing associate students and is relevant to other allied health students. This ‘back to basics’ edition is a concise, clear text on the essentials of nursing care.
Nursing Care of Children and Young People with Long-Term Conditions by Mandy Brimble (Editor); Peter McNee (Editor)
Call Number: online

ISBN: 9781119653110

Publication Date: 2021-03-15

The second edition of Nursing Care of Children and Young People with Long Term Conditions remains the only nursing-specific text on the care of paediatric patients with chronic illness. Written to meet the needs of nursing students and professionals alike, this comprehensive volume provides authoritative and up-to-date information on the context, theory, and practice of delivering holistic care to children and families in a range of health and social care settings.
Nursing the Nation by Jean C. Whelan
Call Number: online

ISBN: 9781978821781

Publication Date: 2021-02-12

Modern health care cannot exist without professional nurses. Throughout the twentieth century, there was seldom a sustained period when the supply of nurses was equal to demand. Nursing the Nation offers a historical analysis of the relationship between the development of nurse employment arrangements with patients and institutions and the appearance of nurse shortages from 1890 to 1950. The response to nursing supply and demand problems by health care institutions and policy-making organizations failed to address nurse workforce issues adequately, and this failure resulted in, at times, profound and lengthy nurse shortages. Nurses also lost the ability to control their own destiny within health care institutions while nevertheless establishing themselves as the most critical part of health care provision today..

Nursing: Program Guide

Nursing Purpose