Paramedicine and EMS: Paramedicine Program Guide

An authoritative overview of the management and treatment of major trauma patients In the newly revised, and substantially expanded, Fifth Edition of ABC of Major Trauma, an eminent team of leading trauma specialists delivers a comprehensive, up-to-date, referenced overview of the emergency treatment of patients suffering from major trauma. Covering all aspects of the management of injured patients during the initial, crucial hours after injury.

Designed to help paramedicine students excel at their academic requirements, Anatomy and Physiology for Paramedical Practice is a unique book in that it brings together anatomy and physiology in a way that is useful for future practice in the field. Unlike other textbooks, anatomy and physiology are presented by body region, rather than system (chest rather than respiratory system) - the way that paramedics are likely to approach a patient when dealing with acute illness or trauma. It will help you understand how the body is organised, its underlying anatomical structure, in terms of gross anatomy, histology and/or cell biology, and then how anatomy and physiology are applied in clinical practice.

Case Files®: Emergency Medicine, Fifth Edition delivers 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in emergency medicine. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, high-yield presentation of key diagnostic and treatment information, USMLE-style review question to enhance your learning.

Emergency Medical Responder is the leader in the field. Author Chris Le Baudour provides clear, first responder-level training for fire service, emergency, law enforcement, military, civil and industrial personnel. For over 40 years, this title has been an important component of thousands of training programs and has contributed to the success of hundreds of thousands of students. The 12th Edition aligns with the latest National EMS Education Standards and includes the 2023 Focused Updates from the American Heart Association Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and First Aid.

The U.S. medical countermeasures (MCMs) enterprise is interconnected, complex, and dynamic. It includes public and private entities that develop and manufacture new and existing MCMs, ensure procurement, storage, and distribution of MCMs, and administer, monitor, and evaluate MCMs. The interagency group known as the Public Health Emergency Medical Countermeasures Enterprise (PHEMCE) is the nation's sole coordinating body, responsible for ensuring end-to-end MCM preparedness and response. Ensuring an Effective Public Health Emergency Medical Countermeasures Enterprise provides recommendations from an expert committee for a re-envisioned PHEMCE. Four priority areas of improvement emerged from committee deliberations: (1) articulating PHEMCE's mission and role and explicating the principles guiding PHEMCE's operating principles and processes, (2) revising PHEMCE operations and processes, (3) collaborating more effectively with external public and private partners, and (4) navigating legal and policy issues.

This title presents a unique view of social problems and conflicts over urban space from the cab of an ambulance. While we imagine ambulances as a site for critical care, the reality is far more complicated. Social problems, like homelessness, substance abuse, and the health consequences of poverty, are encountered every day by Emergency Medical Services (EMS) workers. Written from the lens of a sociologist who speaks with the fluency of a former Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), Medicine at the Margins delves deeply into the world of EMTs and paramedics in American cities, an understudied element of our health care system. Like the public hospital, the EMS system is a key but misunderstood part of our system of last resort. Medicine at the Margins presents a unique prism through which urban social problems, the health care system, and the struggling social safety net refract and intersect in largely unseen ways.

AJN Book-of-the-Year Award Winner! Now in its third edition, this quick reference for nurse practitioners and other health care providers continues to provide rapid access to key assessment and management information for pediatric patients. With its concise format, the resource provides current, evidence-based guidelines for the most-commonly encountered problems found in this population in urgent and emergent settings.

Fundamentals of Pharmacology for Paramedics provides students with the insight and understanding of pharmacological essentials needed to respond effectively to the patients' needs. This textbook will help students improve, expand, and enhance their expertise and the overall health and wellbeing of their patients, while boosting their self-confidence as paramedics in the process.

Skills to Success In a World Where There In No Gray IT'S NOT ABOUT HOW QUICKLY a paramedic can insert an IV or intubate a patient or victim in trouble. It's not about being able to recognize a heart attack from a panic attack. Until it is. Medical knowledge is important in responding to life-and-death emergencies for paramedics. But just as important are the qualities of paramedics that allow them to act decisively in the chaos of prehospital emergency medicine. And those qualities include character attributes and interpersonal skills that serve them well under pressure in a world where there is no gray. This book reveals the inside knowledge of what it takes to be the best paramedic: - Understand the role of essential attributes such as humility, integrity, compassion, drive, and accountability. - Practice the crucial interpersonal skills such as teamwork, assessment, and the ability to act. - Put it all together by using principles of decision-making such as the ability to analyze and anticipate, and take a logical approach to every call. In this book, two veteran paramedics explain the skills for success in the field when seconds matter and judgement means everything. One section is devoted to developing the expectations and evaluation skills of the paramedic who trains others.

Pharmacology for the Prehospital Professional, takes a complete and practical approach to problem-based prehospital pharmacology.

What is the role of the ambulance in the American city? The prevailing narrative provides a rather simple answer: saving and transporting the critically ill and injured. This is not an incorrect description, but it is incomplete. Drawing on field observations, medical records, and his own experience as a novice emergency medical technician, sociologist Josh Seim reimagines paramedicine as a frontline institution for governing urban suffering. Bandage, Sort, and Hustle argues that the ambulance is part of a fragmented regime that is focused more on neutralizing hardships than on eradicating the root causes of agony. Whether by compressing lifeless chests on the streets or by transporting the publicly intoxicated into the hospital, ambulance crews tend to handle suffering bodies near the bottom of the polarized metropolis.  Seim illustrates how this work puts crews in recurrent, and sometimes tense, contact with the emergency department nurses and police officers who share their clientele. These street-level relations, however, cannot be understood without considering the bureaucratic and capitalistic forces that control and coordinate ambulance labor from above.