Pharmacy Technology: Books

The trusted training resource for pharmacy technicians at all levels. The role of pharmacy technicians is rapidly expanding, and demand for well-trained technicians has never been higher! Technicians are assuming more responsibilities and are taking on greater leadership roles. Quality training material is increasingly important for new technicians entering the field, and current technicians looking to advance. Look no further than the new fifth edition of the best-selling Manual for Pharmacy Technicians to master the practical skills and gain the foundational knowledge all technicians need to be successful. Important Updates and Additions to the Fifth Edition Include: - A new section on setting learning goals and objectives for students with strategies for effective learning - Updated information on medication safety, medication reconciliation, and specialty pharmacy practice - A new chapter on pharmacy informatics and technology guidance for inpatient and retail settings - An appendix on emergency preparedness - Tips on finding the right job, continuing education, personal development, and other strategies for career success

Gain a complete introduction to institutional pharmacy practice and efficiently prepare for the new sterile compounding certification exam! Comprehensively covering sterile products, aseptic technique, and the workings of the sterile compounding facility, Mosby's Sterile Compounding for Pharmacy Technicians: Principles and Practice, 2nd Edition, focuses on safe and accurate practice. This edition has expanded and updated coverage to address preparation, processing, medications, technique, and documentation, with review, analysis, and application of , , and and additional content on waste management, workflow, safety and compliance, billing and reimbursement, and emergency management. Illustrations abound, and content is brought to life with an updated art program, step-by-step procedures, and technician notes and alerts. Certification review questions are included with each chapter, and online student and instructor resources round out the offering. Competency forms, lab activities, and sample compounding orders allow you to perform basic, hands-on aseptic manipulations in the lab. Mini-case scenarios promote critical thinking and application. Tech Notes, Tech Alerts, and Did You Know? boxes offer key information on-the-job success. Content modeled after ASHP curriculum for technician training. Chapter quizzes and an online sample exam offer student practice and exam preparation. Instructor support materials online, including lesson plans, PowerPoint slides, a test bank, student handouts, answer keys, an image collection, and chapter pretests. NEW! Expanded and updated content on all aspects of preparation, processing, medications, techniques, and documentation plus new content on the sterile environment; , , and ; hazardous materials and waste management; workflow, quality control; safety and compliance; billing and reimbursement; and emergency and disaster planning. NEW! Procedure boxes with step-by-step instructions, technique photos, and rationales. NEW and EXPANDED! Updated art program focuses on the sterile environment, equipment and supplies, and skills. NEW! Chapter quiz questions and a sample exam prepare students for classroom exams or the new certification credentialing exam.

Learn to calculate drug dosages safely and accurately! Math Calculations for Pharmacy Technicians, 3rd Edition helps you master the competencies required by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). Designed specifically for Pharmacy Technicians, this practical worktext simplifies key calculation concepts and lets you work through hundreds of practice problems. Coverage includes a review of basic math skills, conversions between measurement systems, interpreting drug labels and physicians' orders, and calculating medication dosages based on a patient's age or body weight. The worktext format distills complex content into easy-to-understand concepts and calculations. Math Calculations for Pharmacy Technicians helps you develop the competencies you'll need for a successful career as a Pharmacy Technician. Hundreds of practice problems throughout covering calculations, conversions, and measurements. Step-by-step examples to break down complex equations and formulas into simple building blocks. UNIQUE! Body system icons next to medication names to help students associate different drugs with their respective disorders and body systems. Chapter pretests and posttests to help students assess comprehension and areas of strength and improvement. Key terms with definitions and in-text highlights, accompanied by a handy back-of-book glossary for reference. Tech Notes with helpful advice on handling real-life situations in the pharmacy. Tech Alerts to warn against common pharmacy and medication errors that could impact patient safety. Review of Rules at the end of each chapter to summarize key equations and formulas. NEW! Enhanced coverage of chemotherapy and TPN (total parenteral nutrition) calculations. NEW! Appendix with additional exercises in a comprehensive review. NEW! Drug labels for realistic examples and problems.

Prepare for success on your certification exam! Mosby's Pharmacy Technician Exam Review, 4th Edition provides a complete review of core knowledge, thousands of review questions, and nine practice exams - plus a custom online engine that allows for unlimited opportunities to practice specific topics or create unique simulated exams. A bulleted, outline format makes review easier, reinforcing understanding with full-color illustrations, photographs, and summary tables. All questions reflect the latest exam blueprints. This resource provides you comprehensive support every step of the way for entry-level or sterile compounding certification. Convenient, easy-to-follow outline format provides a comprehensive review of pharmacy technician exam topics. Mapping tables link content to the knowledge categories on the PTCE and ExCPT exam blueprints, including pharmacology and medications, law, patient safety, and quality assurance. 700 electronic flashcards help you memorize key facts by covering the most commonly prescribed drugs, common herbals, abbreviations, and more. NEW! UPDATED organization of content matches the newest exam blueprints. NEW and UNIQUE! Comprehensive coverage prepares you for entry-level Pharmacy Technician certification, plus the sterile compounding specialty exam. NEW! Online custom test generator creates timed, simulated exams built from exam blueprints and allows you to focus your practice on any areas of weakness. EXPANDED! More than 2,600 review questions - all with answers and rationales - include a pretest, questions in each chapter, nine printed practice examinations, and unlimited practice and simulation online. NEW Compounded Sterile Products chapter provides an in-depth review specifically for the CSPT exam.  NEW! Full-color illustrations visually reinforce important test information.

Essentials of Perioperative Nursing, Sixth Edition is an essential reference for new perioperative nurses as well as experienced nurses who need a refresher. Succinct and easy to use, it addresses the basics associated with navigating the perioperative environment rather than a procedure-oriented approach. Ideal for nurses, students, and perioperative nursing staff, it is also a helpful study guide for CNOR certification.Completely updated and revised, the Sixth Edition reflects the most current research findings, literature reviews, and the latest Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) perioperative guidelines. In addition, it features a greater emphasis on safety, new surgical modalities, and approaches to sterilizing surgical instruments and equipment. Each chapter contains objectives, a lesson plan, study questions, a post-test, and a competency checklist to help organize, assess, and reinforce learning. Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Preferred Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook and Navigate 2 TestPrep.